Free Internet Chess Games Server

Install FICGS apps
play chess online

Game result  (poker)

R. Staggat, 2120
H. Lehnhoff, 2091


See game 105048

 Hot news
 Files search
 Social network

Funny photos of Korean masters


Why ?

Back to forum

Marc Lacrosse    (2008-06-20)
Why ?

One of my opponents rated 2300+ continues to play even though there is an announced forced checkmate in eleven moves (no possible miracle : any engine finds the mate).
His game has been completely lost for weeks but the road to mate is long in this minor pieces ending.
Is it correct?
OK this does not infringe any rule but in OTB play this would be considered very bad manner.
Does it happen frequently here?
what is your opinion?

Xavier Pichelin    (2008-06-20 18:00:51)
Why?= Pourquoi?

Bonjour,Marc, Je vous réponds en Français car je ne suis pas habile du tout pour écrire en anglais. . J'ai cru comprendre que vous vous posez la question pourquoi un joueur continue de jouer quand on lui annonce mat en 11 coups? . Bien parce que le joueur en question n'a pas de logiciels assez puissant pour voir qu'il est mat en 11 coups et que peut-être il ne le voie pas ce mat! . Donc si vous êtes sûr de votre mat peut-être juducieux de lui mettre en message la combinaison de joli mat et il abandonnera surement sans tarder?? . Mon opignion personnel c'est peut-être ne lui pas dévulger le mat car il peut être fustrer que vous lui annoncer un mat en n coups. . Maintenant si il le joueur prend le plaisr de durer cette partie en sachant que l'issue est fatale, si il reste beaucoup de temps de réfléxion en avertir le directeur du tournoi donc Thilbaut pour qu'il fasse adjuger ce résultat pour ne pas perdre du temps sur une éventuelle qualification au niveau supérieur! . Amicalement Xavier.

Andrew Stephenson    (2008-06-20 20:45:46)

Playing on in a completely lost position is to get to the next rating adjustment. Particularly when the loss would take them below a threshold - in this case 2300. Your opponent will probably resign on July 1st. Nice game by the way although I didnt like 6 ..Bxf3 (why give up the bishop?)I think 6..Bh5 then e6-d5 and black is fine. 12 Rc1 was a great move! A few moves later and black is suddenly in big trouble

Thibault de Vassal    (2008-06-21 16:49:05)

Hi Marc.

Rules specify that in such cases one should call referee a first time then again ie. one month later, then things become more clear.





July 09, 2020

FICGS is also a social network including seo forums, a hot news & buzz blog, a free web directory and discussion forums to meet people from all over the world. Discuss the last events, improve your search engines optimization, submit your website, share your interests...

Feel free to link to FICGS chess server, register & win Epoints :

FICGS Go server, weiqi baduk banner facebook      
Correspondence chess

World championship

Play chess games

Go (weiqi, baduk)

Advanced chess

Play big chess

Chess trainer apk

Rated tournaments

Poker texas hold'em

Fischer random chess

      FICGS correspondence chess banner facebook