Who is chess champion in your country


Back to forum

Thibault de Vassal    (2007-08-28)
Who is chess champion in your country ?

Maxime Vachier-Lagrave just won the France chess championships in Aix-Les-Bains, after a great tournament (other players in National A tournament were Vladislav Tkachiev, Andrei Sokolov, Christian Bauer, Josif Dorfman, Robert Fontaine, Laurent Fressinet, Jean-Marc Degraeve, Anatoly Vaisser, Igor Nataf, Olivier Renet, Laurent Guidarelli)... Thal Abergel won the National B tournament.

Now the question is :

Do you know who is champion in your country ? .. Not only to know who is champion, but to see if this information is well known or not...

Mike Hoogland    (2007-08-28 14:28:02)
Not 100% sure


Michael Aigner    (2007-08-28 14:31:15)

IM Siegfried Baumegger won the national championship 2007.

Marc Lacrosse    (2007-08-28 15:34:45)

Here IGM Alexandre Dguebadze won the national ch in july 2007.

Garvin Gray    (2007-08-28 17:44:30)

GM Ian Rogers

Poulerik Jorgensen    (2007-08-28 19:26:24)

Gm Sune Berg Hansen champ 3yrs in a row.

Tano-Urayoan Russi Roman    (2007-08-29 04:30:02)
Puerto Rico

William Bermudez

Andrey Sumets    (2007-08-29 09:46:38)

GM Zahar Efimenko I'm sure because I played in this tournament:)

Gaetano Laghetti    (2007-08-29 10:16:53)

GM Godena Michele

Charlie Neil    (2007-08-29 23:23:43)

Jacob Aagaard, playing under the Scottish flag!. (C'mon!)

Dirk Ghysens    (2007-08-30 01:56:16)

Tomasz Markowski
"rybka" Iweta Rajlich.

Than Serd    (2007-08-30 10:05:34)

Kotronias Vasilios (2602)

Jason Repa    (2007-09-06 22:30:19)

We can't leave Canada out of this thread. After all, we're home to the guy (the late Abe Yanofsky) who was Canadian champion many times, and who gave Fischer the longest game of his career. Fischer had the black end of a Najdorf and finally ground poor Abe down to get the full point in the 112 move marathon. It was RNPP vs RBP way back at move 55
Yanofsky was able to hold Fischer to a draw with the black end of a Caro Kann in their next (and final) encounter six years later. Even getting so much as a draw against the great RJF, especially with the black pieces, is quite the accomplishment. Just ask GM Bisguier, who lost 13 straight games to him.

Getting back to the present, the current Canadian champion is the young Nikolay Noritsyn.